top of page

A "Now-ist"

I recently watched Ito's (2014) "Now ist" TED talk regarding how innovation has changed and I loved it. The main lesson I walked away from the video with is that someone who spends years planning a new venture really will not have the upper-hand over the ground-level innovators. It was a lesson hard to swallow, as I am a planner-by-nature. I am very concrete and I thoroughly investigate any venture before I join it. Truthfully, that practice is holding me back from being a "Now ist." Rather than staying prepared, focused, and connected, I plan and think, prepare spreadsheets and review pros and cons. The "Now ist" innovators of today do not share that practice. I will certainly be re-thinking how I approach new opportunities that I encounter.

When asking if I am flexible, the answer is absolutely. That being said, my organization does everything on a large scale due to size. Because of that, it may take several "layers" of approval to move forward on a change or an innovation that I identify as valuable. I think the best organizations hold to tradition to a point but embrace innovations and changes when they can be verified as value-added.

References:

Ito, J. (2014). Want to innovate? Become a "now-ist." [Video file]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VsjTVGIw4z8


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page