top of page

I Am Change

This is a discussion I recently had with my classmates and I thought it fitting to include in my blog.

This is an intriguing yet challenging lesson for me to review. It is intriguing because, in business, I am always looking for the best way to motivate others. What better than this lesson - engaging people on an emotional and "heart" level versus just on a logical level - to do just that. It is challenging because I consistently act and think out of my cognitive domain. I am very logical, clear, and professional. Too often I forget my affective domain when I walk into the office and this lesson is a good reminder to avoid that practice. I am reminded of the Simon Sinek (2010) TED talk wherein he presents the argument that people don't buy "what" you're selling but rather "why" you're selling. I think the same principle is at the core of this lesson - people will be more open to innovation when we impact the heart and lead from that versus from selling all the advantages of getting on board with our innovation.

  • In the Power of Words video consider how the facts detached from our hearts had little impact - why do we all too often focus on the facts? From a management perspective, when it is time for a young person to "get a real job," he or she is instructed to keep the emotions restricted to the nights and weekends. I think that sets up a lifestyle where we live half (or some portion) of our lives out of the cognitive domain and the other half out of the affective domain. The root of this division probably lies in the fact that facts are tangible, which is why we cling to and focus on them.

  • Consider how few words can make a difference? How will this influence your video creation? I think any person who has been given either a two-word put down or praise (so probably everyone on the planet) can speak to the power of a few words. At the end of a project, a few words on the negative will probably make its creator feel like a failure, while a few words on the positive will make its creator feel successful. I plan to write a draft of what I will say in my video (a script, if you will) to ensure my words are premeditated and can be impactful.

  • The BSGuys argue that when you are trying to influence people who need motivation not information, adding more information doesn't help. What does your audience really need? Chances are it isn't information. Not to bring politics into the classroom, but I heard a political commentator yesterday state that a particular losing candidate did not connect with the population on an emotional or heart level. The politician cited facts, logic, and downplayed the opponent's platform. On the contrary, the politician who won that office connected with the population by presenting a message of change, of the every-man being heard. I think that's a perfect picture of this lesson and BS Guys video. People need to feel passion, and they are moved to action by a sense of urgency.

  • What will you be targeting, your audiences heads or hearts, or both? I plan to target both in my message. After all, any businessman or businesswoman who walks into a meeting and presents a solely emotional message will be laughed out of the boardroom. I need to deliver a Sinek-like message by connected on a heart level (why) and then describing the innovation (what).

  • If you want to motivate people to action how should structure your video message? I plan to structure it in a "Why" --> "How" --> "What" format as Sinek (2010) suggests. I will start by presenting some detail about "why," that is, a plea to the heart. Then I will discuss the "how" of my innovation plan. Finally, I will end with a "what," such as what type of results the plan should produce.

  • How can videos or other media help create a sense of urgency? That's a great question. Urgency can be conveyed by an interaction on a heart-level or, in business, on a bottom-line (financial) level. If a videographer can present that connection, there will be an urgency for the change to be pursued sooner rather than later.

References:

Sinek, Simon. (2010 May). How great leaders inspire action. TED Talks. Retrieved from: https://www.ted.com/talks/simon_sinek_how_great_leaders_inspire_action


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page